WPF Wednesday – Bravery

Posted on Updated on

This week the WPF comes from one of my favorite bands The Avett Brothers and their newest album Magpie and the Dandelion.

“Souls Like the Wheels”

 Lyrics

Souls like the wheels
Turning, taking us with wind at our heels
Burning, making us decide on what we’re giving
Change this way of living

One little song
Give me strength to the leave the sad and the wrong
Bury safely in the past where I’ve been living
Alive but unforgiving
Let me go, let me go, let me go, let me go

One little girl
Bring me life from where I thought it was dark
Be the spark that has a chance to light the candle
Love that I can handle
Let me go, let me go, let me go, let me go
Let me go, let me go, let me go, let me go

Souls like the wings
Spreading out away from bad memories
Make us capable of taking off and landing
Alive with understanding
Let me go, let me go, let me go, let me go
Let me go, let me go, let me go, let me go

feather

To begin, I have had the most amazing people in my life show me what is to be selfless, sensitive, open minded, fair, and so much more. But, this post is a particular tribute to one person in my life who has shown me independence, bravery, tenacity, and so much more. There was a time in my life when I was unhappy and afraid to make a choice to try something new and fail. But, what I didn’t realize was not choosing was also failing. I was still unhappy. (“Give me the strength to leave the sad and the wrong”)

Have you ever been faced with something you were terrified about because you didn’t know what the outcome would be? That was the driving force for my life for a long time. It was difficult to let go of past failures to allow myself to see the possibility of a future with success. (“Spreading out away from bad memories; Make us capable of taking off and landing; alive with understanding; Let me go…”) I just want to reach out to anyone who may have had this difficulty or is dealing with it currently and leave you with this statement.

steps

 

I CANNOT stress this enough – taking one step, shuffle, nudge, hobble, skulk, lean, or a breath in a different direction is going to be frightening, but it’s you MUST take that step! If you’re unhappy and/or complaining about your current situation you’re going to regret you didn’t try to take a step sooner to change. I know, I did and compared to a lot of people it could have been worse. My desire is to motivate someone to make their change. I don’t want anyone to miss out on their life because they’re tied down by their past. Trust me, it is more frightening to be unhappy for the rest of your life than it is to make a change.

**TAKE THE STEP**

Leave a Reply

