The Edge of Never & The Edge of Always

Posted on Updated on

16081272

The Edge of Never

By: J.A. Redmerski

Pages: 426

Twenty-year-old Camryn Bennett had always been one to think out-of-the-box, who knew she wanted something more in life than following the same repetitive patterns and growing old with the same repetitive life story. And she thought that her life was going in the right direction until everything fell apart.

Determined not to dwell on the negative and push forward, Camryn is set to move in with her best friend and plans to start a new job. But after an unexpected night at the hottest club in downtown North Carolina, she makes the ultimate decision to leave the only life she’s ever known, far behind.

With a purse, a cell phone and a small bag with a few necessities, Camryn, with absolutely no direction or purpose boards a Greyhound bus alone and sets out to find herself. What she finds is a guy named Andrew Parrish, someone not so very different from her and who harbors his own dark secrets. But Camryn swore never to let down her walls again. And she vowed never to fall in love.

But with Andrew, Camryn finds herself doing a lot of things she never thought she’d do. He shows her what it’s really like to live out-of-the-box and to give in to her deepest, darkest desires. On their sporadic road-trip he becomes the center of her exciting and daring new life, pulling love and lust and emotion out of her in ways she never imagined possible. But will Andrew’s dark secret push them inseparably together, or tear them completely apart?

EdgeThe Edge of Always

(Edge of Never #2)

By: J.A. Redmerski

Pages: 405

Camryn Bennett has never been happier. Five months after meeting on a Greyhound bus, she and her soul mate Andrew Parrish are engaged—and a wedding isn’t the only special event in their future. Nervous but excited, Camryn can’t wait to begin the rest of her life with Andrew – a man she knows in her heart will love her always. They have so much to look forward to—until tragedy blindsides them.

Andrew doesn’t understand how this could happen to them. He’s trying to move on, and thought Camryn was doing the same. But when Andrew discovers Camryn is secretly harboring a mountain of pain and attempting to numb it in damaging ways, there is nothing he won’t do to bring her back to life. Determined to prove that their love can survive anything, Andrew decides to take Camryn on a new journey filled with hope and passion. If only he can convince her to come along for the ride…

curl page break 2

I can’t start this post without Andrew Parish’s letter he wrote to Camryn Bennett in the first book The Edge of Never.

Advert your eyes…

Spoiler Alert from Book 1

Dear Camryn,

I never wanted it to be this way. I wanted to tell you these things myself, but I was afraid. I was afraid that if I told you out loud that I loved you, that what we had together would die with me. The truth is that I knew in Kansas that you were the one. I’ve loved you since that day when I first looked up into your eyes as you glared down at me from over the top of that bus seat. Maybe I didn’t know it then, but I knew something had happened to me in that moment and I could never let you go.

I have never lived the way I lived during my short time with you. For the first time in my life, I’ve felt whole, alive, free. You were the missing piece of my soul, the breath in my lungs, the blood in my veins. I think that if past lives are real then we have been lovers in every single one of them. I’ve known you for a short time, but I feel like I’ve known you forever.

I want you to know that even in death I’ll always remember you. I’ll always love you. I wish that things could’ve turned out differently. I thought of you many nights on the road. I stared up at the ceiling in the motels and pictured what our life might be like together if I had lived. I even got all mushy and thought of you in a wedding dress and even with a mini me in your belly. You know, I always heard that sex is great when you’re pregnant. 😉

But I’m sorry that I had to leave you, Camryn. I’m so sorry…I wish the story of Orpheus and Eurydice was real because then you could come to the Underworld and sing me back into your life. I wouldn’t look back. I wouldn’t fuck it up like Orpheus did.

I’m so sorry, baby…

I want you to promise me that you’ll stay strong and beautiful and sweet and caring. I want you to be happy and find someone who will love you as much as I did. I want you to get married and have babies and live your life. Just remember to always be yourself and don’t be afraid to speak your mind or to dream out loud.

I hope you’ll never forget me.

One more thing: don’t feel bad for not telling me that you loved me. You didn’t need to say it. I knew all along that you did.

Love Always,
Andrew Parrish

featherNow that it’s out of the way (*sigh*) the summaries.

The Edge of Never: After her best friend, her father, and her mother all (in one way or another) abandon Camryn, she hops a bus to the furthest place from North Carolina and meets Andrew. Andrew, running away from his own drama, becomes friends with Camryn. After Andrew buries his Father, he and Camryn take off on a memorable road trip where Andrew and Camryn fail to maintain a friendship with no strings attached. Just when Camryn becomes confident that she and Andrew are forever, a secret Andrew has been holding on to emerges and threatens their relationship.

The Edge of Always: Camryn, 20, and Andrew, 25, are engaged and expecting their first child after only knowing each other for five months. Comfortably living in Andrew’s apartment in Texas, the couple decides it’s time to move back to Camryn’s hometown and family in North Carolina. While they are visiting her mother for a baby shower, Camryn has a miscarriage. Devastated, Andrew and Camryn try and deal with the loss and move forward. Just when Andrew thinks they are going to make it, he finds the almost empty bottle of percocet Camryn has been using to maintain her image of normalcy. Andrew does what he does best, he takes them both on an unplanned road trip and tears down the wall’s Camryn has built to protect herself from her past pain.

How I should feel about this book is completely different from how I do feel. On paper, this book seems like a ridiculous love story between two children who don’t know anything about life. I beg you to reconsider. Of all people, I should be the one giving this book grief, but I can’t. I love the story of Camryn and Andrew.

In the first book, the two meet while Camryn is running away from her past and Andrew is running away from his reality. While this itself is not what make this book special, it is the journey the two take together and lessons learned that do. They cast off all responsibility and take to the road, working where ever and when ever they need money and stopping only on a whim. While this lifestyle is certainly not indicative of real-life, it does, however, have a selfish quality that one can only dream about.

In the second book, the two are faced with the reality of adulthood and parenthood. While the sensible grown up in me knows the situation Andrew and Camryn are in spells doom, the young dreamer holds on to the hope and fairy tale of the two making it through intact. Now I’m writing my review and I’m all…

who

A review is supposed to be a clear and concise like or dislike of a book or parts of a book and here I am telling you all the reasons I shouldn’t like the book, but telling you I loved it! My one and only true problem with the series, lies in book 2, The Edge of Always. Spoiler Alert – At the end of the book, 18 years later, we switch POV’s completely and the story’s end is told by Andrew and Camryn’s child. We lose the adulthood of Camryn and Andrew through another perspective. 😦 I recommend this book to everyone, but reader be warned – DO NOT go into this book set on reality. Instead, go in with a youthful heart and read for its adventure and dream-like quality. This book allowed my mind to dream about the “what if’s” in life without the fear of reality.

-JL

Leave a Reply

