Monica Murphy’s “Four Years Later”

Posted on Updated on

17978533
Book 4

Four Years Later

(One Week Girlfriend #4)

By: Monica Murphy

Over. That about sums up everything in my life. Suspended from my college football team and forced to cut back my hours at The District bar because of my crappy grades, I can’t keep turning to my sister, Fable, and her pro-football playing husband, Drew, to bail me out. I just can’t seem to find my own way. Weed and sex are irresistible temptations—and it’s messed up that I secretly hand over money to our junkie mom. A tutor is the last thing I want right now—until I get a look at her.

Chelsea is not my type at all. She’s smart and totally shy. I’m pretty sure she’s even a virgin. But when she gives me the once over with those piercing blue eyes, I’m really over. But in a different way. I won’t deny her ass is killer, but it’s her brain and the way she seems to crave love—like no one’s ever given her any—that make me want her more than any girl I’ve ever met. But what would someone as seemingly together as her ever see in a screwed up guy like me?

Books in the Series:

18733803

 feather

To begin, I’ve read every book in the series except for Drew+Fable Forever and while the covers are not my taste and scream corny, I enjoyed the series for one reason, Fable. When I was introduced to Fable I was nervous I would have another sappy and agreeable heroine, but Fable is one of the strongest female’s I have ever read.

In Four Years Later we follow Fable’s younger brother, Owen, as he struggles to change and distance himself from his past mistakes. He is constantly torn between being the college athlete and the partied out play boy. Owen and Fable’s mother, who we are introduced to in the first book, is a selfish worthless human being. She is so addicted to drugs she can’t hold a job, has a new boyfriend monthly, and uses any and all money she has to chase her next high. Fable has long since distanced herself from their mother and her poison, but some how Owen still feels a need to earn her love and takes any money he earns from his part-time job and gives it to her. Owen also periodically smokes weed to cope with his problems and parties with his roommates and mother. As he tries to hide all of this from Fable, his grades slip and he gets kicked off the football team. Miraculously, his college counselor intervenes and Fable promptly threatens Owen with bodily harm if he doesn’t get it together and use the tutor his counselor recommends.

As Owen’s grades begin to improve, he and Chelsey, his tutor, start a romantic relationship that threatens Owen’s secrets. As in all love stories, the situation gets more difficult and we watch as he struggles between being his mother’s little boy and growing up.

While this book isn’t my favorite of the series, it was enjoyable and added depth to the relationship Fable and Owen have with their mother. We have Fable who, after years of supporting and putting up with her mother, cuts all ties by realizing she doesn’t care or love anyone other than herself. Then we have Owen, a seemingly strong individual who cannot seem to turn away from his mother no matter how many times she hurts him. This book was an interesting read for me. Reading the understanding and reasoning of someone who is an addicted and then repercussions of that person’s choices felt by loved ones was…meaningful for me. I’ve always been interested in the dynamics between people and families; I guess that is why I majored in sociology.

I digress.

Monica Murphy has  a unique and stunning way of developing her characters that can bring anyone into her stories. The One Week Girlfriend series is a  great series for anyone looking for a sensual romantic read.

Rating: BoltBoltBolt

Leave a Reply

