Somewhere Between Water and Sky Reviewed

Posted on Updated on

Somewhere Between Water and Sky a Review

SBWaS AmazonGRSWI heard it said once that every human is a story with skin.

If this is true, paragraphs would be etched in the scars on my wrists.

Whole chapters could be written about the way my heart pounds when I startle awake.

And every single one of my tears could fill a book.

But stories, with all their promise, only leave room for disappointment. I don’t have room for that anymore. I left it all—the hope, the love, the promise—back in my old life with the ghosts I’d rather forget: Jude. Emma. Pacey.

This is how I dare to move forward and to believe in a new beginning. I let go of the old. I just grab the new and run. I don’t wait around anymore. I can’t.

Waiting leaves room for the voices.

Somewhere between water and sky, I’ll find a way to burn these voices to the ground.

feather

When I got the email listing for “Somewhere Between Water and Sky” I could not pass up the opportunity to read a book with a description this intense and thrilling! Just the first four sentences give me chills!

Little did I know this book was the second book in a series and I hadn’t read the first book.

What the hell?!

For those of you who don’t know, I HATE to read an author in the middle of a series. There are some books you can read out of order and some you cannot. However, to fully understand which category this book would fall I would have to read the first book.

And here begins my adventure.

I looked and looked for any library or person where I could borrow “Every Shattered Thing” to read. No such luck! Then, I decided to try and read all reviews, excerpts and blogs I could find. SO MANY people were touched by book one and all the ratings ranged from 3 to 5 stars, but I still didn’t feel right writing my review of “Somewhere Between Water and Sky.” So I did the last thing I could think of…

…I tried to cheat.

I sent a pleading message out on Goodreads looking for someone to talk about both books.

I know, I’m pathetic. And no one was willing to help me!

I know, right!

Any way…here is the truth of the matter. Commenting on one book without the precursor is like commenting on experience of skydiving by just evaluating the moment your standing on the edge of the plane and jumping. Leaving out all the anticipation and excitement building up to that point dilutes the actual experience. This is why I do not like to enter the middle of a series.

“Somewhere Between Water and Sky” starts off kind of crazily in down town L.A. where a 17 year old girl named Stephanie has run away from home, finds a job working at a coffee house, and lives in a hotel. Believing she has just enough money to get herself through her first semester of college, she tries to spend her money wisely. WISELY?! WISELY REALLY? Wisely is NOT spending money living in a HOTEL. Just FYI.

Any way, it is at the coffee shop we meet both Ren and Jessa who are, for the moment strangers and co-workers, attempting to unravel the enigma that is Stephanie.

Now, remember, it is at this point I have no idea what has happened to make Stephanie run away and be so untrusting of the people around her, but it is the day after being introduced to Ren and Jessa when Stephanie is ambushed at her hotel room and agrees to go on a day trip with the two. Mmmmkayyyy…

While In this trip, the characters’ transform and feel like the age old friends you’ve always known and it is here the author’s true talent reveals itself in depicting the complexities of human emotion and psyche. I cannot express enough how much I enjoyed reading Stephanie’s internal battles and the love and support given from her new found best friends. It is no wonder why “Every Shattered Thing” had such an impact.

Do I feel cheated out of reading the first book and enjoying the series? ABSOLUTELY! But it’s my own damn fault. My advice is to start from the beginning, read, and then begin reading “Somewhere Between Water and Sky.”

BoltBoltBolt

-JL

Leave a Reply

